MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Getting into OOP, the MVC pattern and frameworks
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4
I'm done with procedural PHP, I want to learn OOP. I have a very basic understanding of what it is and how it works, but I'm still very clueless about it. All I've done was use PDO, which is awesome by the way. I already have a couple of tutorials bookmarked and some videos I plan on watching, but feel free to link me to more stuff.

In addition to that, I also want to learn about the MVC pattern. Basically, all I know is it's a way to logically separate your code into model, view (what's seen by the user) and controller. How it actually works? I'm not sure yet. In order to learn all of this I was thinking of using a framework, but I'm not sure which. So what would be a good one? Bare in mind I'm still a beginner, so I'm looking for something nice and lightweight that I can learn from - not the best framework overall.

I've been looking into CodeIgniter, Kohana, CakePHP, Yii and even the most recent one, FuelPHP. But I just don't know which to pick. If I had to make a choice though, I'd go with CodeIgniter because of the large community and great documentation - perfect for a beginner. However, I want to hear from you. What framework would you recommend to a noob like me?

Thanks!
Probably Yii so you can get used to how MyBB 2.0 will work Toungue
I've had experience with CI which is really good for beginners. If you have a relatively good knowledge of PHP then you could also dive in to Zend Framework (I'm in the process of writing a piece of software in ZF was we speak) which although isn't very lightweight it's packed with everything you could ever need.

It's really about what you feel comfortable using. Smile