MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Get users post number from one particular forum?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
How could I get a user's post number from one particular forum?

Example: I am User A. I make a post in Forum X. I also make a post in Forum Y. On my profile, it should say:

"Posts by User A in Forum X: 1".

In an ideal world, this would be used in a conditional, for displaying a filter link with xThreads - similar to this:

//postedthreads is the amount of threads in Forum X
<if $postedthreads > 1 then><a href="mods.mybb.com/profile/{$memprofile['uid']}">View {$memprofile['username']}'s Plugins on the MyBB Mods Site</a></if>

Would display as:

View Seabody's Plugins on the MyBB Mods Site

I think the query would be something like this (where X is the desired fid), though I'm no MySQL expert:

$postnum = $db->query("SELECT u.postnum FROM ".TABLE_PREFIX."user WHERE f.fid == X");

Did that make any sense whatsoever, or should I explain further?
Suppose if you want to count just the end user's post (the one who is viewing), then something like this would suit. If you want to count in some other way for all others as well, then the scenario would be different as you'd probably need to join two tables and query the data.

$uid = intval($mybb->user['uid']);

//Suppose that we are counting a user's post from fid 3

$query = $db->query("SELECT `uid`,`fid` FROM ".TABLE_PREFIX."posts WHERE uid='". $uid ."' AND fid=3");

//Now below would count the total posts of a user in forum id 3

$num_posts = $db->num_rows($query);

$db->free_result($query);
I just realized I made a few errors in my OP. Blush I want to count threads, not posts. I adjusted your query and it worked perfectly. Here's my final product, if anyone's interested:

$uid = intval($memprofile['uid']);
$query = $db->query("SELECT `uid`,`fid` FROM ".TABLE_PREFIX."threads WHERE uid='". $uid ."' AND fid=15");