MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Find+Edit var/funcs? How to literally write template var in actual PHPfile?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I have worked with a lot of HTML and done some work with Bash, PHP, AHK, CSS... so I know some of the basics just from years of hands on usage, but it's all self-taught by trial and error coupled with online research.

I'm having trouble making my brain come to terms with exactly how some of these things work... Here are the quickest explanations of the situations that have arisen for me.

Let's say I'm looking in a template and I see {$goat_master_load} and I sit there with my eyes bugging out because I have NO idea what that could be loading up in that template. What EXACTLY is the correct method of locating the spot that the variable is created? In other words, how do I find and go to the spot that tells that variable what to say? And how do I edit it myself? (assuming I have NO CLUE where it could be by its name, which is why I used a random example nobody would recognize lol)

Next up... (very important: please help!)
Let's say I'm editing the PHP page that, when converted to template, will show the code {$goat_master_load} but obviously when I am editing the raw PHP file, you cannot just slap that in there. I need to know the PHP equivalent to calling that same information. How do I literally write that out in PHP-file-friendly format to output the same variable content as {$goat_master_load}?

I found a perfect example of what I mean! Big Grin
Take this:
cellspacing="{$theme['borderwidth']}" cellpadding="{$theme['tablespace']}"