MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Help with a game server listing plugin.
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi,

I am going to take a stab at writing a game server listing plugin for MyBB. I am totally new to this and I am researching the basics on how to write a plugin now.

If you have some additional links to tutorials (not sticky'ed here) I would appreciate you porting them here.

I am going to use this PHP code (see below) as the basis for having my game servers post their name, IP and player count. If you have a better piece of code I would be interested in it.

Basically what I want to do is setup game server accounts on my MyBB board and have the servers login and report their status. This should prevent spamming and provide a level of security. I also want to have a page setup so the clients can access server status data via HTTP get that is available publicly and does not include any HTML just plain text.

Additionally I would like make it so that is generates a proper server listing available in a browser for registered users to view.

Anyway I'm a plugin newbie and could use some guidence.

- Rich -

<?

// Master Server
	// Copyright 2008 Binary Phoenix

// This script is pretty simple, it allows you to pass an argument to this file that
	// specifies what statistic you want. Normally this will be a request to get all
	// servers running for a given game.

// MySql DB Structure;
	//
	//  - servers (table)
	//		- ID, int, auto_increment, primary key
	//		- IP, tinytext
	//		- Name, text
	//		- TimeoutTimer, int
	//		- GameName, text

// Arguments;
	//
	//		- action : This specifies the action to preform, it can be any of the following;
	//			- listservers  :  This will cause the script to emit a list of currently
	//							 running servers. This must be used with the gameid argument
	//							 to specify what game the servers must be running.