MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: My First Plugin - ShowNewPoints
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello Friends,

i studied 4-5 days continuously on MyBB Plugins, how they works, how they can activated, deactivated, install, uninstall and all of things.

After Learning a basic of making plugin i successfully created a Plugin Called "ShowNewPoints".
It is a simple but powerful plugin as i think about that.. hehe  Big Grin

Requirements:- NewPoints Plugin installed

Working of This Plugin:- It will be displayed users newpoints on every page under the header bar.
In case of deactivating or uninstalling NewPoints plugin it will be Disabled automatically and it will be automatically Enabled as NewPoints Installed/Activated.

Features:- You can Change text before and after newpoints value. Currently this plugin has only this feature.

I am very happy i create a plugin.. File and screen shots is attached below...
Please take a look and tell me any bugs and errors.

Any reply,comment and feedback will be appreciate. Smile Rolleyes
  • $is_activated = $db->fetch_array($db->query("select `title` from ".TABLE_PREFIX."templates where `title`='newpoints_home'"));

You should read the plugins cache instead, as a template may be deleted yet the plugin be active.
  • 'gid'		=> 'NULL',

Unnecessary and may throw SQL errors on some environments.
  • 	$db->insert_query('settinggroups',$ShowNewPoints_group);
    	$gid = $db->insert_id();

Equals to:
    $gid = $db->insert_query('settinggroups',$ShowNewPoints_group);

Toungue
  • $db->query("DELETE FROM ".TABLE_PREFIX."settings WHERE name IN ('ShowNewPoints_Enable')");

Use the delete_query() method instead.
  • require MYBB_ROOT.'/inc/adminfunctions_templates.php';
    require vs require_once?