Current time: 07-31-2014, 03:40 PM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
[How To?] editing site discription
04-10-2012, 08:35 AM
Post: #1
Not Solved editing site discription
hi how do i edit the site discription ?

Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-10-2012, 08:39 AM
Post: #2
Not Solved RE: editing site discription
AdminCP > Configurations > General Configuration > and edit the things you want to change.

[Image: 16mJ9bI]
MyBBsmsAPP | MyStatus | ProProfile
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-10-2012, 08:46 AM
Post: #3
Not Solved RE: editing site discription
the site discription is`nt on there i`m sure i remember seeing it when i was setting it up

Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-10-2012, 09:09 AM (This post was last modified: 04-10-2012 09:09 AM by Yaldaram.)
Post: #4
Not Solved RE: editing site discription
Could you explain a bit more as to what exactly you mean "site description" ?? All I know is a forum's/sub forum's description.

[Image: 16mJ9bI]
MyBBsmsAPP | MyStatus | ProProfile
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-10-2012, 10:33 AM
Post: #5
Not Solved RE: editing site discription
I think he means the meta tag. http://support.google.com/webmasters/bin...swer=79812
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-10-2012, 12:44 PM (This post was last modified: 04-10-2012 01:49 PM by Euan T.)
Post: #6
Not Solved RE: editing site discription
MyBB has no site description setting at all. Wordpress does. If you wish to add a meta description as mentioned above, you can edit the index template and add the following:

PHP Code:
<meta name="description" content="My Forum's Description" /> 

Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-10-2012, 01:04 PM
Post: #7
Not Solved RE: editing site discription
(04-10-2012 12:44 PM)euantor Wrote:  MyBB has no site description setting at all. Wordpress does. If you wish to add a meta description as mentioned above, you can edit the index template and add the following:

PHP Code:
<meta type="description" content="My Forum's Description" /> 
thanks m8 do i just add that and type my forum Description where it says My Forum's Description above ?

Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-10-2012, 01:07 PM
Post: #8
Not Solved RE: editing site discription
Yeah, add it before the </head> tag in the index page.

Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-10-2012, 01:16 PM (This post was last modified: 04-10-2012 01:18 PM by CRAIG@VM.)
Post: #9
Not Solved RE: editing site discription
cheers cuz on my last site when you typed the site address in a post on facebook it came up with the link and the site Description will doin that make it do the same /

and the site banner came up but now it just comes up like this
VAUXHALL MODIFIED
http://vauxhallmodified.co.uk/

Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-10-2012, 01:22 PM
Post: #10
Not Solved RE: editing site discription
You need to remove the "&nbsp;" strings from the index template. That's caused by a bug in codepress.

Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Contact Us | MyBB | Return to Top | Return to Content | Lite (Archive) Mode | RSS Syndication