Current time: 07-31-2014, 07:37 PM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
mybb in php safe mode
10-09-2010, 11:11 AM
Post: #1
Not Solved mybb in php safe mode
my web hosting said that it is running php in safe mode, will mybb run on it?/ specially they have disabled basecode64

Shifting from phpbb3 after using for 2.7 years.. started loving MyBB Big Grin
Vote for MyBB, would love to see winning!
AUTO Backup ur Database
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-09-2010, 11:12 AM
Post: #2
Not Solved RE: mybb in php safe mode
MyBB will run fine with safe_mode on.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-09-2010, 11:18 AM (This post was last modified: 10-09-2010 11:24 AM by drankur.)
Post: #3
Not Solved RE: mybb in php safe mode
and what about disabled basecode64 function?? (as phpbb3 was giving debug error on it)
the exact list of diabled functions are:


Disabled Functions: show_source, system, shell_exec, passthru, exec, phpinfo, popen, proc_open, base64_decode, base64_encodem, proc_terminate, proc_get_status, proc_close, proc_nice


can myBB run on this server

Shifting from phpbb3 after using for 2.7 years.. started loving MyBB Big Grin
Vote for MyBB, would love to see winning!
AUTO Backup ur Database
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-09-2010, 11:25 AM
Post: #4
Not Solved RE: mybb in php safe mode
(10-09-2010 11:18 AM)drankur Wrote:  can myBB run on this server

Yes. Smile
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-09-2010, 12:41 PM (This post was last modified: 10-09-2010 01:10 PM by drankur.)
Post: #5
Not Solved RE: mybb in php safe mode
just got an error:
Type: 2
File: task.php (Line no. 59)
Message
base64_decode() has been disabled for security reasons.........

means no task will run??
also when i am clicking on edit this user in ACP, i am getting the following errior:
Forbidden

You don't have permission to access /forum/XXXXXXX/index.php on this server.

Additionally, a 404 Not Found error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.

Shifting from phpbb3 after using for 2.7 years.. started loving MyBB Big Grin
Vote for MyBB, would love to see winning!
AUTO Backup ur Database
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-09-2010, 06:06 PM
Post: #6
Not Solved RE: mybb in php safe mode
What's the full URL you're on when you get the forbidden error??

I don't know why they'd want to disable base64 functions...

Can you still feel the butterflies?

Free never tasted like pudding.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-10-2010, 03:28 AM (This post was last modified: 10-10-2010 05:04 AM by drankur.)
Post: #7
Not Solved RE: mybb in php safe mode
this is the url where i am getting the forbidden error:

Code:
http://xxxxxxxxx.com/forum/admin/index.php?module=user/users&action=edit&uid=99

don't know but they have disabled the above mentioned function, this is one of the reasons i have to shifted to MyBB from phpbb3 as it was full of errors.(they told that it is for security reasons)
also i am getting this error almost every 2 hours:

Type: 2
File: task.php (Line no. 59)
Message
base64_decode() has been disabled for security reasons

what is this running, any imp task??

Shifting from phpbb3 after using for 2.7 years.. started loving MyBB Big Grin
Vote for MyBB, would love to see winning!
AUTO Backup ur Database
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-10-2010, 05:27 AM
Post: #8
Not Solved RE: mybb in php safe mode
Talk to your host to see if they can enable this function for you. It is absurd for them to disable this as I am not aware of any security risks associated with this function. The problem with them disabling this for you is that there is no replacement function (that I know of) that you can use instead of base64_decode()

If they can't then its time to move hosts.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-10-2010, 09:03 AM
Post: #9
Not Solved RE: mybb in php safe mode
till the matter is solved please answer my 2 questions:

1. i am getting this error evry 2 hour:
Type: 2
File: task.php (Line no. 59)
Message
base64_decode() has been disabled for security reasons

what does this doing?/ why getting error? what is in line59?/

2. do i have to disable all tasks in task manager due to disabling of base64_decode()
means no task will run now automatically??

Shifting from phpbb3 after using for 2.7 years.. started loving MyBB Big Grin
Vote for MyBB, would love to see winning!
AUTO Backup ur Database
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-10-2010, 09:36 AM
Post: #10
Not Solved RE: mybb in php safe mode
1) task.php can't run because it's trying to use base64_decode(), which is turned off.
2) No, you will just have to get a new host.

To your point above: Your host has mod_security enabled, but if you're running MyBB 1.6, you shouldn't even get these errors. What version do you run??
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Contact Us | MyBB | Return to Top | Return to Content | Lite (Archive) Mode | RSS Syndication