MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: [mybb_posts] Optimization Suggestion
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
A great sql table makes the server overheat, and it also makes a board slower. Its side effects are felt when your board has more than 1.000.000 posts, and it is visited by thousands of guests and members within an hour. I know that enormous sql table equals mybb_posts, so I hope developers of MyBB optimize this table. Though I'm not a programmer, I'll just recommend a few things about this matter:

Is it possible to divide mybb_posts table into a few tables? For example in every 200.000 posts, a new post table can be automatically created such as mybb_posts1, mybb_posts2 and so on?

Or another way, is it possible to divide mybb_posts into three tables such as mybb_posts1, mybb_posts2 and mybb_posts3 in which the posts will be recorded into these three tables in row. For example, 1st post into mybb_posts1, 2nd to mybb_posts2, 3rd to mybb_posts3, 4th to mybb_posts1, 5th to mybb_posts2 and so on....

My board's mybb_posts table is bigger than 400 MB. It is very slow while viewing the threads though I always rent and use the best servers. The problem is also not related to any other plugins. And there is no problem of slowing while viewing other pages. So, for enormous boards, mybb_posts table can be optimized in different ways you develop. I just recommend it, but I don't know the best way to achieve this as I'm not a programmer.
This has nothing to do with MyBB 2.0. However, have you considered joining the "Big Board Owners" group (if your board meets the group requirements)? You can view the group requirements here http://community.mybb.com/usercp.php?action=usergroups
The largest MyBB forum is running 12 million posts just fine. Doing something like this would cause more problems than solutions imo.