MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: "Your IP Address is not valid for this session." (with details)
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello,

I have seen this post in the past. However, the threads I noticed when researching appear to be older. As well, I have a slightly different situation, as I believe I know directly what is causing it.

Okay, onto my problem.

I'm working on editing templates in the Admin CP. As a result, I am constantly saving and refreshing pages. Every few minutes or so, I seem to get a "Your IP Address is not valid for this session" error.

From reading past posts, it seems to be linked to the admin's IP Address changing dynamically. As a certified IT technician, I can understand this, and why this security feature is important.

However, as well, as a certified IT technician, I began to run a log of my internet and IP Address activity as soon as I read about the cause of the error. The thing is: My IP Address is not changing at all.

It only gets stranger from here though:

I happen to have both an IPv4 address and an IPv6 address. The former, of course, is provided via my ISP. The latter is provided via the Hurricane Electric Tunnel Broker. The IPv6 address happens to be my primary that I use.

I have my forum setup via a web host that offers IPv6, so I am connecting to the forum via IPv6, and I can provide logs to show this if requested.

Now, if you ask how this connects to IP issue, here is how. Looking through the logs in the Admin CP, it seems that MyBB is constantly shifting between reading my IPv6 and IPv4 address. This seems to be the source of the issue. However, I am unsure as to why this may be happening, as my IPv6 connection is not dropping, and if I read my profile on the active users list, it only ever reads my IPv6 address.

Is there any idea as to why this may be happening?