MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: How do I install a plugin?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I'm new to MyBB and I'm wondering how to install a plugin.

Thanks!!!
in general, plugin related files are provided as zip / rar archives . extract the contents in a folder
on your computer . if there is a readme text file then read it - it gives installation instructions ..

there might be a upload sub-folder ; the contents of that upload folder needs to be uploaded to
the server which has your myBB installation ; follow the same structure used in the upload folder.

basically, plugin's main php file has to be uploaded to ./inc/plugins folder of myBB server ; AND
there can be related files to be uploaded to languages folder , admin folder , root folder .. etc.

after uploading all the files related to the plugin, proceed to plugins page on admin panel , activate ..
(2011-12-24, 12:46 PM)ranjani Wrote: [ -> ]in general, plugin related files are provided as zip / rar archives . extract the contents in a folder
on your computer . if there is a readme text file then read it - it gives installation instructions ..

there might be a upload sub-folder ; the contents of that upload folder needs to be uploaded to
the server which has your myBB installation ; follow the same structure used in the upload folder.

basically, plugin's main php file has to be uploaded to ./inc/plugins folder of myBB server ; AND
there can be related files to be uploaded to languages folder , admin folder , root folder .. etc.

after uploading all the files related to the plugin, proceed to plugins page on admin panel , activate ..

Well, you probably shouldn't use me as an example, but the only README I have ever read is Google SEO and my first plugin install...
Just upload all the files in the upload folder, in to respective folder in your root.