MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Vulnerability Scan
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hello, my forum got hacked a while ago and i THINK it was by SQL injection as they deleted a database and uploaded 2 files which were virus's.

but i had backup's (luckily) and now its backup but this was a while ago.

The person who was the messenger boy between me and the attackers said that they just wanted me to pay them for hosting (they are a web hosting company but not popular)

So i said no, and now they have stopped.. now, i thought it was SQL injection as i thought this was the only way to hack a forum? Messenger also told me that they cannot do it without having a account with admin powers on it so now i am the only admin but i can't be worried about being hacked 24/7.

I now have my own server but i am not experienced at all.

It has a firewall named config server security or something similar and it uses iptables. My host installed this for me as i can't use SSH whatsoever.

Do you have any idea what plugins are a major risk? also, do you know any good free vulnerability scanners as i know they exist but are not free also people do this manually? how? wouldn't you have to go through every single file?

Thanks, my URL is not posted as i did not think it was needed and also because it looks nasty as i am editing the theme Toungue

Thanks, Again.
You can't upload a file via SQL injection. Perhaps your server got hacked?
no but maybe they got passwords from db? well, i was on shared hosting at the time.. i don't think a web hosting company's server is hackable although it would be difficult it they was.
(2012-02-16, 01:07 PM)AlliedManiac Wrote: [ -> ]no but maybe they got passwords from db?
As long as you haven't stored the FTP password in the database, no.
Well, i don't know.. How in the hell did my forum be able to get hacked anyway?! Sad

Good job backups exist