MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Include .html file/template before body close tag
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi, this is my first post here in mybb community. I'm also developing my first mybb plugin so I need help hehe.
I have been using phpbb3 for years and I'm still learning how mybb plugins work, so, this is probably a noob question:
how can I add a lot of html/js lines of code before </body>?
A lot means: I don't want to do this:
$plugins->add_hook("pre_output_page","addMyHtmlAndJs");

function addMyHtmlAndJs($page){
	global $mybb;
	if ($mybb->settings['enabled_mypluginname'] == 1){
		$aLotOfHtml = 'You know, a lot of HTML, with \' and more \' and fucking hard to edit...';
		$page = str_replace('</body>', $aLotOfHtml . '</body>', $page);
	}
	return $page;
}
It works, but it is really hard to modify and I'm sure there is a better way of including html in a template. Something like:
$page = str_replace('</body>', include('my_template_name') . '</body>', $page);

The plugin is a Node.js chat for myBB. Similar to facebook chat, with a general chat room too, and with Node.js instead of long polling. It works, but now it needs css, images, mybb integration, permissions, etc etc etc

Thanks for the help!
If you want to include a .html file, use the file_get_contents() function.

Or if you want to get the HTML from a template, you'll need to bring the $templates variable into global scope and then use the $templates->get(<name of template>) function to retrieve the HTML:

$plugins->add_hook("pre_output_page","plugin_pre_output_page");

function plugin_pre_output_page(&$page) {
  global $mybb, $templates;

/* ... */

/* Loading from a HTML file */
  $html_include = file_get_contents("footer.html");
  $page = str_replace('</body>',  $html_include . '</body>', $page);

/* Loading from a template */
  $html_include = $templates->get("this_plugin_footer");