MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Private Forum?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello all,

I am new to using MyBB (I must say that I love it), and recently created my forum. I was wondering if it would be possible to make my entire forum private. By this, I mean that when you visit my forum, all you can see is the login page. In order to view the board, you must login to your approved account. Also, by default, I want all newly registered users to be placed into the "Awaiting Activation" group where an admin must verify them before they are placed into the "Members" group.

Thank you.
(2012-03-12, 11:42 PM)bigjzoo Wrote: [ -> ]Hello all,

I am new to using MyBB (I must say that I love it), and recently created my forum. I was wondering if it would be possible to make my entire forum private. By this, I mean that when you visit my forum, all you can see is the login page. In order to view the board, you must login to your approved account. Also, by default, I want all newly registered users to be placed into the "Awaiting Activation" group where an admin must verify them before they are placed into the "Members" group.

Thank you.

if you want admin verify post then you should use Required Approval (1.1) plugin. http://mods.mybb.com/view/required-approvals
To make a private forum, go to Admin CP > Users & Groups > Groups > Guests under the tab Forums and Posts, uncheck "Can view board?".

For approved accounts, go in Admin CP > Configuration > User Registration and Profile Options and change Registration Method to "Send Email Verification", though it should be there by default. If you want to manually approve accounts, change it to "Administrator Activation".
(2012-03-13, 12:11 AM)Xstrike Wrote: [ -> ]To make a private forum, go to Admin CP > Users & Groups > Groups > Guests under the tab Forums and Posts, uncheck "Can view board?".