MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Adding Queries to MYBB
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Forgive me as I am new to MYBB but I am trying to modify my template to fit my websites theme. It is going well but I have been unable to figure out how (to add queries to/ call queries from) the templates. Right now all of my new code it just in the footer, header and index rows of the templates table. I am going to have a navigation menu on the left that is the same as the rest of my websites theme. I need to run a query to return the links so the only place have to update links is in my db not on every page. No problem with PHP but I know I can’t use PHP within the templates and don’t want to because of the holes it causes.

I have searched the MYBB site and I have been unable to find any documentation that explains this whole process. I have found bits and pieces but I haven’t been able to put it all together yet. My website is http://www.bighostingproviders.com/forum/. Any help would be great

Thanks
You can't do that directly in the templates. You will have to create a small plugin that runs that query, stores the results and then proceeds to edit the templates. See [Wiki: Database_Methods] (Broken link, head over to docs.mybb.com instead) for information on how to access the database. You might also want to take a look at [Wiki: Authoring_Plugins] (Broken link, head over to docs.mybb.com instead) for some documentation on plugins.
Suggest you find a similar acting plugin from the mods database and review the code. If you know PHP you'll understand quickly how MyBB works.
I understand PHP just fine. My problem isnt writing the query or php. My question is how do i access the query from the template? and how do i include the php file from the index.php. so lets say i put a file in the in folder. I wanna do something like

php-start
include inc/custom.php
php-end

in the index file