MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: More modern templates
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hello developer whom I greatly respect,

I hope you'll excuse me for perhaps making a post that has been posted before. I do so because I think I can help.

I'll start with a short introduction, since this is my first post: My name is norbert, I'm a 28 year old front-end webdeveloper. I've been a developer in this branch for 6 years now. I've done a fair share of PHP and MySQL too.
I'm using MyBB for a community site I'm hosting and I see a lot of room for improvement on the front-end of MyBB.

I've seen some jokingly talk about HTML5 on this board, and I think there's some misconceptions about the subject. I'd like to tell you my experience about it:
HTML5 is here, it's here now, it works well and it's a great platform to develop for/on/with. HTML5 consists of a lot of seperate modules. They do not ALL have to be supported in order for webdevelopers to start using the others/some. Some modules like CSS3 are even groups of sub-modules some of which are well supported, some only on cutting edge-browsers. This does not mean you cannot use them at all. You can use them, to improve the experience of users.

I'd like to advocate Graceful Degration or Progressive Enchancement.
In short: It's OK for a website to look or behave differently in older browsers or edge-case situations. It's perfectly normal for a website to be a bit basic in IE6, no animations, no modal windows etc. And be very sleek in Chrome 11 with fancy roll-over animations, ajax, custom fonts etc..
As long as the core features of the website are available: navigation and content.