MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Where to put javascript?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hi guys,

Please excuse me, I'm pretty new at this whole thing. I want to make a new page and I followed a couple of tutorials which had me creating a new template and calling it from newpage.php

I have some javascript I would like to play with as well. It allows an image to be dragged accross a page and placed anywhere.

I've placed the javascript in newpage.php as $javascript = ' a heap of js ';

Then in my newpage template I called it with {$javascript} between the <head> tags.

It doesn't seem to work...

I have tried placing {$javascript} in different places to no avail. I think I am missing something here?
Just enter your javascript in the new template which you created after <head> & before closing of </head> tag and it would work fine.

You can also enter it in templates > your theme templates > ungrouped templates > headerinclude , but it would call your javascript on all pages then.
thanks crazy4cs. I was kind oh hoping to keep it out of the template and keep the template as a default for all new pages I wanted to add and then custom the php page but I guess its not the correct way to do it. I am guessing the correct way is to use a specific template for each page.

I'll try it in the template and see how it goes, cheers

yeah it didn't work. The javascript works fine if I stick it inside a test.html or test.php so I dont think there is anything wrong with the script.
Then paste your code (only js code) in headerinclude template. What is the issue you're facing exactly?
It just fails to work, trying to understand how it all fits together but its a learning curve for me.