MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Java Converting values into ARGB integer
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
So, I'm writing an application in Java, and to save myself time when working out the values for colours, I thought I'd write myself a class with a few static methods so I can run the operations easily.

Now, I'm using a buffered image and the colour type is TYPE_INT_ARGB. I'm fairly new to Java though (only been using it for a month or so), and this is the first time I'm having to use bit shift operators, so I'm a little confused. What I have so far is the following class:

public class Color {

public static int getA(int argb) {
		return (argb >> 24) & 0xFF;
	}

public static int getR(int argb) {
		return (argb >> 16) & 0xFF;
	}

public static int getG(int argb) {
		return (argb >> 8) & 0xFF;
	}

public static int getB(int argb) {
		return argb & 0xFF;
	}

public static int getARBGInt(int a, int r, int g, int b) {
		return ((a << 24) | 0xFF) + ((r << 16) | 0xFF) + ((g << 8) | 0xFF) + (b | 0xFF);
	}

}

From what I've been reading, and from various questions other people on the internet, I'm fairly sure that the code for getting the single values is correct. However, I was unable to find anyone asking about putting the single values back into the one, so I tried to take a guess at what the code should be.

To anybody who knows what should be done, my guess may look stupid, or it may be not far off. Either way, I don't really know what I'm meant to be doing, and I don't want to read up about bit shifts properly just yet as I haven't needed to use them before, and there's other things I want to learn first. So yeah, if anyone could give me the correct code, I would greatly appreciate it.

My solution (if I dare call it that) doesn't seem too far off to me, since my test:

System.out.println("Using ARGB int: " + 2147124220);

int a = Color.getA(2147124220);