MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Getting timed out. DB issues with my hosting.
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I have been hosting my myBB forum for more than 2 years with Hostgator without any issue on their Business plan. Here is the URL -> http://www.learnqtp.com/forums/ with 1.6.0 myBB version.

Today my main website was getting timed out frequently. I reported the same to LIVE chat and requested them to monitor it. Within 2 mins of asking, I received a message (probably an automated trigger) from Hostgator saying that I am using too many resources and hence they have restricted my DB. I ran a Optimize DB query through PHPMyAdmin and things got sorted out. Finally i asked them what else they think could be the reason for that trigger and they have sent me this message.

Quote:Hello,

The database is being restricted based on the high amount of rows being read with a low amount of select requests. As you can see below, you pulled over 1 million rows of data with only a thousand select requests.

DB_USER: xxx_abc -- TOTAL_CONNECTIONS: 87 -- CONNECTED_TIME: 944 -- CPU_TIME: 1 -- TABLE_ROW_READS: 115188 -- SELECT_COMMANDS: 1171 -- UPDATE_COMMANDS: -- BUSY_TIME: 920 -- BYTES_SENT: 9481868 -- BYTES_RECEIVED: 492454 -- WAIT_TIME (IO): 919

Here is an output of your current forum database and the amount of rows within each table. I would highly recommend you work towards reducing the number in tables such as mybb_google_seo, mybb_posts, and any other tables you feel can be reduced.

Database: xxx_abc
+---------------------------+----------+------------+
| Tables | Columns | Total Rows |
| mybb_adminlog | 6 | 105 |
| mybb_adminoptions | 8 | 3 |
| mybb_adminsessions | 7 | 1 |
| mybb_adminviews | 11 | 1 |
| mybb_announcements | 10 | 3 |
| mybb_attachments | 12 | 914 |
| mybb_attachtypes | 6 | 15 |
| mybb_awaitingactivation | 7 | 266 |
| mybb_badwords | 3 | 0 |
| mybb_banfilters | 5 | 26 |