MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Change Default Group On Registration?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hey, i want to know how to change the default group on how users register.
For example it goes to registered.
I want it to go to Members.

How do i do that?
Admin CP > Users & Groups > Groups > and then just edit "Registered" to whatever you want your group to be called.
Is there any other way?
Because i have plugins pointing to the members group.
Not that I know of currently since I've searched on the Admin CP to no avail :/
Try this:

(2011-09-14, 05:37 PM)Masayoshi Wrote: [ -> ]Open ./member.php

Find:
// Set up user handler.

Replace with:
// Edit for default registration group...
if ($usergroup == 2)
	$usergroup = 6; // Replace the 6 with the group ID you want...

// Set up user handler.
Worked!
Thank you so much Big Grin
Glad to help Smile
(2012-07-15, 09:20 AM)Vernier Wrote: [ -> ]Try this:

(2011-09-14, 05:37 PM)Masayoshi Wrote: [ -> ]Open ./member.php

Find:
// Set up user handler.

Replace with:
// Edit for default registration group...
if ($usergroup == 2)
	$usergroup = 6; // Replace the 6 with the group ID you want...

// Set up user handler.

Hi, I have changed the code in the correct file and yet still when people register they are put into the "Registered" group. Is there anything else I need to do?

Thanks

Can anyone help with this as it is causing me significant problems. Thanks.

Can anyone help with this as it is causing me significant problems. Thanks.

(2012-10-25, 06:26 PM)Hugh Briss Wrote: [ -> ]
(2012-07-15, 09:20 AM)Vernier Wrote: [ -> ]Try this:

(2011-09-14, 05:37 PM)Masayoshi Wrote: [ -> ]Open ./member.php

Find:
// Set up user handler.

Replace with:
// Edit for default registration group...
if ($usergroup == 2)
	$usergroup = 6; // Replace the 6 with the group ID you want...

// Set up user handler.

Hi, I have changed the code in the correct file and yet still when people register they are put into the "Registered" group. Is there anything else I need to do?

Thanks

Can anyone help with this as it is causing me significant problems. Thanks.

Can anyone help with this as it is causing me significant problems. Thanks.

For future reference to help other the above solution will only change the default usergroup for instant activations. If you want to change the default usergroup after activation (to check that a correct email address) has been entered then you need to look carefully through the code further down the page and alter the code that determines what usergroup the user should be moved to after an email activation link has been clicked.

I hope this helps someone as it drove me mad for about a day.