MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Combining Scripts to reduce http requests
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi,
I'm liking MyBB software a lot, I came over from WordPress into the forum dev world somewhat recently. I'm in the middle of making some sprite based and borderless themes for MyBB and was looking into how else I could streamline site loading/performance. I noticed there were a few external javascripts included with a standard install of MyBB 1.6. So I searched the source to find all other .js instances to get a picture of how, where, and when scripts are used. Now I'm not a javascript guy so I have little to no knowledge of troubleshooting it or understand internals workings of scripts. But since my goal was to streamline loading, I set a goal to combine all scripts in scripts directory into 1 file. I used Google's Compiler as well as tried some others and even some python based scripts. Well.. to back track, I found the following:
Inline scrits (seems would be pointless to combine in 1 external script):
codepress.js
peeker.js
view_manager.js
mycode_sandbox.js
config_settings.js
quick_perm_editor.js
imodal.js
themes.js
users.js

Attempted to combine into 1 script:
autocomplete.js
captcha.js
controls.js
dragdrop.js
editor.js
effects.js
general.js
inline_edit.js
inline_moderation.js
popup_menu.js
post.js
prototype.js
rating.js
scriptaculous.js
slider.js
thread.js
usercp.js
validator.js

After changing the core to reflect a single "SuperScript" file and testing locally, I find that some of the jquery functions do not work properly. Such as polls and quick edit. I assume it's an error in compiling the javascripts into 1 file.

Has anyone done this successfully? and if so would you be willing to share how you successfully compiled the scripts OR would you be willing to share your compiled script? Thank you.