MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Starting up forum, not sure about the sections.
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hello,

This is my first post here Smile. To be honest, I've been using MyBB for ~2 years now. Anyway, I want to start up a forum and the topic of it would be 'Wep Application Security'. I do have the keywords I want to rank for, so please don't tell me I should not because they already exist etc.

I see many forums everyday that have about ~5 members and 6556467 of sections, which makes them unprofessional, inactive and dead.

In general, my forum is about securing your website / server and surrounding these protections (We are NOT a hacking forum, only legal discussions).

My current sections are as follows:

Bold - Category
Text - Forum

Hacksters Community

Community Related
Description: Forum/Board Related Topics and user sided problems, suggestions and updates belong here.

Website & Server Security[/b]
Description: All about securing your website or server and surrounding these protections, also known as 'breaking in' or 'hacking'. To fully understand, you must know how attacks work.

[i]Programming

Description: This section is related to programming. Any computer language will do. The sub-forum is created for CGI languages such as PHP, Python etc.

Any suggestions?
I would think it is pretty difficult to have a whitehat hacking community as the same techniques to check for security are often used to attack, I think.

Anyway, I think it is a good idea to post here rather than direct to showcase for pre-launch questions.

So your plan is one category and three forums on the index page. That is short and sweet.Smile I see you refer to subforums in the programming section. What is the purpose of those subforums? Is it any programming in a selected language, or is it programming more specific things and how to do that in the various languages?