MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Need help with Database Configuration!
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I am new to all of this, and about to pull the remainders of my hair from my itchy scalp.

All I want to do is add a MyBB Forum to a website I am hoping to develop.

I had no idea it would be so hard.

I bought a hosting plan through Yahoo Small Business.

I have read so many guides, my head hurts.

Yahoo's help page tells me to do things that aren't even options once there.

Apparently, I had to download FTP, FileZilla, MySQL and now I'm being told I need cPanel, etc. Nothing I do seems to matter in relation to getting the DATABASE CONFIGURATION required in the Install phase of MyBB.

All I get, no matter what I do, is:

Error

There seems to be one or more errors with the database configuration information that you supplied:
•Could not connect to the database server at "" with the supplied username and password. Are you sure the hostname and user details are correct?

Once the above are corrected, continue with the installation.

I just don't understand any of this. Why is it so hard to just make a forum to attach to my website? What am I doing wrong? I know it can't be this hard and frustrating?

Shouldn't my Yahoo Web Host have this crap already set up somewhere? I've searched, and cannot find the answers.

Please help. I just need proper direction to pull this off.

Thanks in advance.
1) where u want to host yur mybb if u want to host ur mybb on ur local machine u have to install php server and mysql and configure

and if u want to host on hosting server upload files to server and configure /inc/cofig.php

$config['database']['database'] = ';-----------------databse name
$config['database']['hostname'] = ''; ------------------database host name
$config['database']['username'] = '';-----------------------database user name