MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: private & public chat plugin development (Node.js)
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I'm not sure if this is the correct place but seems like the best option (it's not a plugin request or a release so...).

We have developed a facebook like chat for mybb. But better Cool
[Image: file.php?id=1918]

Why better? Because we use websockets and Node.js, so the chat is real time, we don't use http request-response system (no more auto ddos attacks...).

The chat works, but we've never released a plugin for mybb (in fact I'm still a phpbb3 admin/user). We need help so we can convert our "home made plugin" into a real plugin everybody can use and install.

That means we have to translate (it is in Spanish) a few things, add some options in ACP/UCP to see the last conversations, change global chat settings... write documentation and test in different environments.

And I'm also thinking of making a "hosted" solution, because the chat uses Node.js and people probably don't have access to their server and can not install node.

If you think you can help please send me a PM. What we need is someone with experience with mybb plugins and javascript.

Thanks!

PS: I also have a small Android app that connects to the chat server. It is still under development, but it works.
I forgot something important, the plan is to release this plugin (once finished of course) under a free software license (GPL or similar).
nobody? really? I thought this plugin would be interesting...
Well, I will use it in my forum until I have enough time and experience to publish it or a PM comes xD
that's will be nice...i will wait til it release