MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: New Website Idea
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
My friend is interested in making a website about love and relationships and has asked me to help her admin it since I know a bit more about it than her but her main goal on the website is to share and make people feel comfortable to share their feelings but, I have a couple problems with the idea and I don't want her to start spending money buying domain, hosting etc.

I'm not a pro by all means, I just design websites so I was wondering, how would one go about advertising this kind of site? I've never really advertised a love/relationship advice forum, it's always been web design or advertising myself so all I know is to go to admin forums. How else could me and her handle this?
Personally, I wouldn't go for it, without a perspective audience.

By this I mean that I could easily go over to Wrong Planet (And I'm a member there...) And post in their relationship section.

It seems a bit like a "General Forum", to me.
I think it is a decent idea myseldf. I have done it before but the project failed due to lack of time and also lack of money for starting that off. I do however own the domain relationshipboard.net which could be good for SEO if you want it then let me know Smile

About advertising. I would say pretty much normal forum posting as well as some offline posters or something like that. Most people have some form of issues in a relationship so it would be easy to get members if you get things right.

There are a few of them in the niche though and I found it hard to get people to join up because I was relying on sign ups to ask questions for me to answer and discuss so as long as you could cover that and outdo the competition in design, management and content quality then I think you could do well.