MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Guide to Tightening MyBB Forum Security
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
NOTICE BEFORE READING:
This is not a guide to making your forum completely secure and untouchable but this is a guide to the many different things that one can do to tighen up security. I would also like to note that the latest version of MyBB is very secure even out of the box. Also note that i'm no expert on this, I've never even had a public MyBB forum but i'm hoping to start one soon. This is mostly about securing MyBB itself, look elsewhere for information on securing any other web applications that you are hosting

The key points

#1 Keep your forum as up to date as possible
It is very important you keep everything up to date, this includes plugins.
Make sure to manually check for updates in the Admin CP often and/or frequent the downloads section of mybb.com

#2 Check before installing plugins
Plugins have the potential to bring down your whole forum if they are insecure/intentionally backdoor-ed. Google is your friend with plugins so ensure you check through any posts/advisories on the plugin and any other sources of the plugin that could are more likely to be secure. Don't use cracked/nulled plugins. If you can understand PhP then look through the code. If the code is encrypted/obfuscated etc.. and the plugin is not commercial then be very careful. Look into the plugin author and their credibility as well. Using a plugin that is used on HF and made by labrocca for example is a much better idea then some random thing you found dumped on the net.

#3 Use secure and unique passwords
Ensure the passwords to all powerful accounts are different, unique, long and use a large array of chars.

*ndEyd7_-38Dne3dhy3(8ednYe}&yDp2@04(jNPKNBGgdue