MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Pretty discouraging
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I'm new to myBB and set it up a few days ago. I obtained reCaptcha keys and entered them. Then today I come home to find a number of new registered users and a bunch of postings in the forum.

I've now set my board to admin approval. I see a section for different spam plugin's.

I went through the configuration again to check about having to approve postings for new users. I thought I saw it at one spot but couldn't find it.

I don't know why forum software seems to be a target for this kind of junk.

I'll climb down off of my soap box now.

Dan
I don't understand what you're trying to say. Why not just follow the advice in the plugins thread?
Forum spam has been around just as long as forums have. If you search the forums you'll find many threads and resources to help combat spam.
(2013-03-06, 08:58 PM)brad-t Wrote: [ -> ]I don't understand what you're trying to say. Why not just follow the advice in the plugins thread?

Hello,

What I'm trying to say, is it is a little discouraging that we have to take extra steps to combat spam in the forum.

Dan
It's an inevitability of every forum software. Running a forum is not turnkey. Administration is work.

I hope we'll see more spam controls baked into future versions of MyBB, but there are more than adequate solutions available right now.
(2013-03-06, 09:04 PM)Nathan Malcolm Wrote: [ -> ]Forum spam has been around just as long as forums have. If you search the forums you'll find many threads and resources to help combat spam.

Hello,

Thanks, I'll be checking those out. For now things will stay on administrator approval.

Dan
(2013-03-06, 11:01 PM)Dan_Westlake Wrote: [ -> ]
(2013-03-06, 08:58 PM)brad-t Wrote: [ -> ]I don't understand what you're trying to say. Why not just follow the advice in the plugins thread?

Hello,