MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: How To Display Random Ads
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
(2013-03-27, 05:48 AM)WebDevandPhoto Wrote: [ -> ]I think this might be what you're looking for:
http://mybbhacks.zingaburga.com/showthread.php?tid=260

if so click the link in my sig ;D

thank you, i will try it Big Grin

(2013-03-27, 07:58 AM)Cedric Wrote: [ -> ]This is easy to do, put this code in index.php [Only main site page] , or global.php [Display everywhere!]

// Considering the ADcodes as an array!
$ads = array(
"1st AD Code Here. Note: Remember about Escape Sequences or PHP will pull out error!",
"2nd AD Code Here. Note: Remember about Escape Sequences or PHP will pull out error!",
"3rd AD Code Here. Note: Remember about Escape Sequences or PHP will pull out error!",
);

$randomadcodes = $ads[rand(0, count($quotes) - 1)];

Then go to your header template & put {$randomcodes} to display them Big Grin

Enjoy!

for this column
1st AD Code Here. Note: Remember about Escape Sequences or PHP will pull out error!
whether to code JS ads that will appear? Huh

because my PHP language is still low,
I am superior in CSS and HTML. I am not for the arrogant to you. Big Grin
Put escaped HTML/JS code there, each ad in new "". So copy the code and if there are PHP characters (for example ") in it, escape them using \ before them.
By Escape sequences I meant, for example this is your AD code:

<script type="text/javascript" src="ads.js"></script>

Then in PHP you write it as: <script type=\"text/javascript\" src=\"ads.js\"></script>
OK now I understand.

if you write PHP code above to support plugin "MyAdvertisement"?
No i don't write for MyAdvertisements. Just put my code in your files & you will get it to work without a plugin.
(2013-03-27, 03:04 PM)Cedric Wrote: [ -> ]No i don't write for MyAdvertisements. Just put my code in your files & you will get it to work without a plugin.

okay this is very good to use.
however I've been using a plugin MyAdvertisement
I'm confused is how to add the combination to display ads in this section:

[attachment=28866]

attachment above is JS code to display an image in the form of ads
I think you are really not understanding me Toungue

Follow these steps:

-> Edit Your Global.php [Open cPanel -> MYBB DIRECTORY -> Right-Click On Global.php & Select EDIT]

Find this:

// Set up some of the default templates
eval("\$headerinclude = \"".$templates->get("headerinclude")."\";");
eval("\$gobutton = \"".$templates->get("gobutton")."\";");
eval("\$htmldoctype = \"".$templates->get("htmldoctype", 1, 0)."\";");
eval("\$header = \"".$templates->get("header")."\";");

Add just above it:
// Considering the AD codes as an array.
$ads = array(
1  => "AD Code 1",
2  => "AD Code 2",
3  => "AD Code",
4  => "AD Code",
5  => "AD Code",
6  => "AD Code"
); 
$randnum = rand(1,6);
$randomadcodes = $ads[$randnum]; 

***If you can provide me your AD codes, I will add them for you.

Now go to -> Themes & Templates -> Templates -> YOUR THEME -> Header -> header ->

Add this where you want to display the ADS:

{$randomadcodes}

*I tested it on my localhost, works perfectly like HELL!
okay
This has worked for me to do.
thank you so much you have helped me.
if there is anything I can do I will do for you

once again thanks Big Grin
Glad that I was able to help Smile
Sorry to bump an old thread but version 2.0.3 already does this

http://forums.mybb-plugins.com/Thread-My...ents-2-0-3

You just add the adverts you want to the zone so new ads to the same zone, and they will be randomly shown.

Test it by creating a new advert with just text like "this ad is random1" then another "this ad is random 2" and you will see them randomly displayed.

I am thinking of adding priority to it as well so you can choose priority so that say you have a campaign of 1000 views for an advert and want it random you can add weighting to the randomness so it is shown say at least 1 every 5 pageloads
Pages: 1 2