MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Get {$forum['fid']} at the index templates
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hi,

I know that {$forum['fid']} only define in forumbit and forumdisplay templates.

But now I want to use that variable in the index templates.

I checked index.php file and found that inc/function_forumlist.php already called.

But why the $forum['fid'] can't be called ?

Please teach me how to use it.

Thanks, I'm new to MyBB Toungue
Try this:

// Get the FIDs!.
	$query = $db->query("
		SELECT f.*, fr.dateline AS lastread
		FROM ".TABLE_PREFIX."forums f
		WHERE f.active != 0
		ORDER BY pid, disporder
	");

Use a loop to get them all, say:

while($forum = $db->fetch_array($query))
{
     $newfids = $forum['fid'];
}
Wouldn't that reassign $newfids every time the loop, well, loops?

// Get the FIDs!.
    $query = $db->query("
        SELECT fid
        FROM ".TABLE_PREFIX."forums
        WHERE active != 0
        ORDER BY fid
    ");

$result = $db->fetch_array($query);
foreach($result as $value)
{
$forum_fid[$value] = $value;
}
//$forum['fid1'] $forum['fid2'] etc.
Not Tested!

Why would you need fid's on the index? AFAIK they don't reference anything unless you plan to pull threads from a forum, and even then you can hardcode the fid in.
@Seabody, thanks for correcting it Big Grin I am no good at SQL, so I didn't know what to put inside the loop to make it continue Big Grin

or maybe can we try this:
//Say i = 1 before loop starts Big Grin
$newfids[i] = $forum['fid'];
i++;

Considering $newfids as an Array?
To me, while() is useful for generating large tables of data, such as a threadlist. Could be wrong about your code though. Smile

echo "<table>";
while($result = mysql_fetch_assoc($query))
{
$threadlist .= "<tr><td>$result['subject']</td></tr>";
}
echo "<table>";