MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Global mybb registration
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
As a noob I maybe express my idea here vaguely, but it would be cool, if mybb would have a global login cookies and registration system for all mybb based forums. You know, someone registers at one mybb community and can use this login and password at another mybb community, if it accepts global mybb accounts or if this account meets certain chosen criteria at this community.

And also it would be still a better social network than facebook.

I don`t want to speak for others, but will speak for myself: I hate to register for only a few questions. Not everyone are coders, not everyone are big music lovers, not everyone play games everyday, not everyone are bodybuilders, not everyone love cats or dogs or rats or people or anime or whatever. Why not to create something like this? I believe this is the future.
It's not possible. We'd need to maintain a huge network and unless you're willing to donate hundreds of thousands of dollars to support it it won't happen.
Sad. Maybe in the future you will find a new more effective way to make money.
Even if it was possible, what if you got hacked, or that forum got hacked?

You're going to need to change your password for 10+ forums ASAP. Not efficient nor secure.
You just described OpenID.

But Nathan is right on. To maintain a network that large would take a vast amount of server resources, because every authorization would have to come through your central server. That's a huge load.

It's not really possible for a free project such as MyBB to act as a provider for such a large network without some significant financial support.
(2013-04-27, 12:28 AM)Howto Wrote: [ -> ]Sad. Maybe in the future you will find a new more effective way to make money.