MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: How to restore a part of the template codes?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi,
I have messed up the codes in the header of a customized template. I don't remember the codes and I can't restore it manually typing them out...

I want it to go back the way it was. Is there an easy way to roll back just like that? Something like "undo"? lol... Or do I have to restore it from the backup?

I have made a full site backup just yesterday by using the backup wizard in Cpanel of Hostgator (my host), which should contain everything including entire MyBB.

Sorry I am still a newbie. If I have to restore the header codes from backup, where to find the codes in my backup files? I can't seem to find the codes for the forum header. Or is there any other way to restore just the header? Please give me some advice! Thanks!

Come on people, could anyone please help a newbie? I know my questions might be dumb, but since it's a dumb question so it should be easy for all you experts, right? Big Grin

I really need to restore the header as soon as possible. Please help!
you can revert the template to original but it can not be like a backup of previous version.
you can get the header from backup of database. if the database file is not huge then you can open it
in a text editor (eg. notepad++) and find the header template of your active theme. or you have to take
help of someone experienced.
Thank you for the reply!

I can't just revert it to the original, because the header (before messed up) was far from the original.

Where do I find the database files?

I have full backup of my site, and I have just downloaded it from my host. All the data seem to be in a folder called "homedir" because it's the only one looks big with tons of files in there.

I can go as far as
homedir --> public_html ---> forum