MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Question about backup and restore
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi,

I am a total noob here, so please be patient with me. Big Grin

I have messed up the codes in my template on multiple occasions, some of the codes were not my design, so I am unfamiliar and totally incapable of restore them manually or even fix the current problems after I messed things up. In the past, I had resorted to full restore by upload every file from my full site backup. Although it fixed the problems but it also rolled everything (ex: threads, posts) back which was not good.

I am wondering, how can I restore template codes without messing with anything else?

I have tried to ask this question in the past but unable to find the answer I need.

Right now I have done two different ways of creating backup files.
1. I use the backup wizard in cpanel (provided by Hostgator) to do full site backup.
2. I have used the MyBB admin panel tool called "Database Backup" under "Tools and Maintenance".

I am still not sure which is the correct way to back up the template/theme. When I choose to use the method #2, I am not really sure what does 'data' and 'structure' mean. Does data mean the data of posts, threads, etc.? Does the 'structure' mean the theme codes?

What is the most efficient way to back up just the theme/template? And how to restore/roll back just the template/theme codes?