MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Convert PHP to Template Conditional?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello,

I'm not a PHP programmer, I only know intermediate level XHTML/CSS, so bare with me if my code sucks.

I would like to convert my PHP code to a template conditional, here is what I have made below. All it does is randomly float 2 ads left or right.

<style type="text/css">
	<?php $r = rand(0,1); ?>
	<?php if($r==0) { 
	echo '.leftad336x280index {float: left;} .rightad336x280index {float: right;}'; 
	} else {
	echo '.leftad336x280index {float: right;} .rightad336x280index {float: left;}';
	}
	?>
	<?php if($r==0) { 
	echo '.leftad336x280 {float: left;} .rightad336x280 {float: right;}'; 
	} else {
	echo '.leftad336x280 {float: right;} .rightad336x280 {float: left;}';
	}
	?>
</style>

Does anyone know how this would be achieved by using Template Conditionals?
<setvar myrandomad>rand(0,1)</setvar>
<style type="text/css">
<if $tplvars['myrandomad'] == 0 then>
.leftad336x280index {float: left;}
.rightad336x280index {float: right;}
.leftad336x280 {float: left;}
.rightad336x280 {float: right;}
<else>
.leftad336x280index {float: right;}
.rightad336x280index {float: left;}
.leftad336x280 {float: right;}
.rightad336x280 {float: left;}
</if>
</style>

Make sure you uploaded the .txt file to inc/plugins from Template Conditionals package as it's required now.
Why do you guys use plugins for this? You can simply declare a variable in the Respective page (say index.php) like this:

$r = rand(0,1);

if($r==0) {
$adcodecss = '.leftad336x280index {float: left;} .rightad336x280index {float: right;}';
}
else {
$adcodecss = '.leftad336x280index {float: right;} .rightad336x280index {float: left;}';
}

simple enough? And then just use {$adcode} in your template Toungue So easy rather than using a plugin & then asking on the forums to convert code for that plugin. lol.