MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Hidden category as a spamtrap?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Since it seems that spambots are just looking for the first category that can be posted in, why not have a hidden category that is not visible on the board, only as a backend trap that only spambots will 'see' and post at?
I'm no programmer and don't know how smart the bots are, so is this a good idea as part of mybb or a widget?

My 2 cents
PinkStar
Spambots are placed in the registered usergroup. We can't do this, otherwise other registered members will see it too. It's a good idea, but it'd be difficult to target at spambots (they register like normal users, there is no way for the forum to tell if a user is legit or a spambot).
Thank you for the feedback Seabody.
My thinking was that the top category would be a regular categegory as far as the backend goes, Active but just not visible on the frontend for humans.
Since the bots just follow the html and don't see what's presented for regular users I thought this would be a simple cosmetic solution: Just hide the top category.
I know this will not stop spambots but if it worked it will stop them from interrupting the forum and as an admin I can delete and ban when I have the time.
Why not use group promotions and moderate every post done by a user with 8 or less posts? If it's an automated spam bot, it most likely won't post more than 8 times every 12 hours or even if it does the very first 8 posts would be hidden from public view and awaiting moderation. I normally do this with all the forums on my board except the general discussions forum and introductions however it's your choice where to apply this suggestion.
Thank you Arbaz,
I want my forum to be unmoderated and no dissrupt my members posting. I will only set it on moderation for new users if I absolutely have to.