MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: [Resolved x2] Theme and Permissions Question
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I have my forum configured so that from a permissions standpoint, if the design of the section looks like this:
  • Forum
    • Subforum1
    • Subforum2

Then you can't post in the Forum, you can only post in one of the subforums.

However, MyBB still shows the option to create a new thread, which in turns takes you to the "No permission" page.

Is there a way to prevent MyBB from showing the option to create a thread if you do not have permission to create it in the first place?
simple method is to install template conditionals plugin and use code like this
(2013-10-15, 08:01 PM).m. Wrote: [ -> ]simple method is to install template conditionals plugin and use code like this

Thank you!
I searched first, but that didn't pull up for me.



Revision:
Looks like that coding completely took away my capability to post, even in subforums.


Further info:
I noticed that my MyBB install is auto converting

<if $fpermissions['canpostthreads'] == 1 then>
<a href="newthread.php?fid={$fid}"><img src="{$theme['imglangdir']}/newthread.gif" alt="{$lang->post_thread}" title="{$lang->post_thread}" /></a>
</if> 

to

<if&nbsp;$fpermissions['canpostthreads']&nbsp;==&nbsp;1&nbsp;then>
<a&nbsp;href="newthread.php?fid={$fid}"><img&nbsp;src="{$theme['imglangdir']}/newthread.gif"&nbsp;alt="{$lang->post_thread}"&nbsp;title="{$lang->post_thread}"&nbsp;/></a>
</if>

after I save the updated template.




Further Info:
I am still able to create a thew thread by going to /newthread.php?fid=X

Edit:
For the time being I'm turning the forums in these instances, into categories, but still, I'd like to get this feature configured to work properly for future use.
personally, it bothers me to see a button that I can't click, I'm sure several of you feel the same as well - and I don't want future members to feel that way either.
please turn off CodePress at admin panel >> preferences and re do the template edits.
though threads & forums are closed for posting, administrators and other staff can still make new threads and new replies.
(2013-10-16, 02:08 AM).m. Wrote: [ -> ]please turn off CodePress at admin panel >> preferences and re do the template edits.
though threads & forums are closed for posting, administrators and other staff can still make new threads and new replies.

Ah ha! That seems to have worked. MyBB is going to take some time to learn I'm afraid.

Would it be best for me to leave CodePress off, or should I re-enable it?
^ please keep it OFF. enabling it might corrupt code edits.
(2013-10-16, 02:38 AM).m. Wrote: [ -> ]^ please keep it OFF. enabling it might corrupt code edits.

I'll take your word for it, I'd rather not find out myself.

I'm assuming that it;s purpose is to clean up sloppy code, but it can misfire and much up good code, causing the issue I had previously> If so, this is most unfortunate, but I should be able to well enough without it.

Thank you for your assistance, yet again. It means a lot that I can come here and get help configuring MyBB.