MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Can I build my forum offline?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I was wondering if it is possible to make loads of forum threads in localhost mode then upload the database or whatever you need to upload??? total noob here... I want my forum to seem popular before I even get a hosting account, so I want to make loads of threads. Is that possible or will I just be wasting my time? Huh
that is possible. see search results --> https://www.google.com/search?q=mybb+localhost

you should have same set of plugins and settings at the live forum and on localhost forum.

if you already have a live forum then copy its files & import its database for the localhost forum.

after making required threads on the local forum you can transfer the database from localhost forum to the live forum
Okay thanks. I'll start typing away now. Big Grin
Personaly i would do it on live site, just block it from viewing with .htaccess

1. create folder 'errors'
2. put there some html or php file like maintenance.html with text "site is undergoing sheduled maintenance. We will come back as soon as possible. Please visit us a little later."
3. then put something like this to .htaccess (change youriphere and canmoreipstoo to your IP)

order deny,allow
deny from all
## ---- IP who is allowed access while maintenance
allow from yo.ur.ip.here can.mor.eip.stoo
## ---- mintenance page
ErrorDocument 403 /errors/maintenance.html
## ---- allow view maintenance page
<Files maintenance.html>
allow from all
</Files>

This way you can freely do anything you want with your site in 'live' mode,
while other visitors see maintenance message at the same time.

When maintenance is over, can put # character in front of these lines to open site for visitors
(or simply delete these lines, but i would rather put # so i can use it in future in next maintenance)
^ Thanks avril Smile