MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: You Close Your PHP Code Tags? (?>)
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello,
I'm a PHP beginner and I try to learn how some developers create their applications. I've seen scripts with unclosed PHP tag (?>) and I try to understand why!?

<?php
// script content
?>

From what I read on the internet, this practice is recommended (including by Zend Framework) when using include() or require(), to prevents accidental whitespace or new lines being added after the PHP closing tag.
I'm not sure if and how useful is this practice. Personally, it makes me feel a little... wrong or insecure. So... I would like to know the opinion of developers about how good is the practice to not close php tags (of course, for PHP-files only)?

You ever use it? Should be avoided? Or ... in which case it is really a good practice?

Thank you.
It's recommended best practice, though I don't usually do it. For some strange reason I always type out opening and closing tags first, with three lines between them, and then start to code.

The whole deal is that if you include the ?> tag with whitespace at the end, headers can't be sent or something resulting in PHP Errors being output. I've not encountered this problem personally, but hey, YMMV.
Thank you, Seabody. OK. So... it's related to... output header?
I found information related to "output_buffering" flag in "php.ini" but I still don't understand. For example, if this is enabled, is recommended to use unclosed PHP tag method?

L.E.: I mean... in which case it is really a good practice?
Output buffering means that anything that is echo'd out will be stored in the buffer until it is explicitly output (or the script terminates). Take for instance:

<?php

echo "Hello World!";
header("Content type: text/html");

?>

This fails as output has been sent before a header. However this:

<?php

ob_start(); // starts output buffering