MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: I'm scared to start making themes.
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I've been a web developer for 6 years so far. I've made websites for at-least hundreds of clients. I've made hand coded websites, built my own CMS, built hundreds of WP themes, and more. Theme development isn't new to me.

However, I look at MyBB's code, I open up a template and what do I see? Tables, tables everywhere. I mean I don't even know which tr leads to which. I have to dig through code through code to figure out which element to style, I have to add classes to elements, I have to use dreaded <br> tags...

Not to hate on the developer, but the ONLY theme I found that I actually liked and can work with from a base was Apart 1's theme, HOWEVER, it just broke mods, actually - I'm stuck with a broken MyAlerts plugin because if I disable, the whole theme is borked and there is no way I want to spend my time how to fix that. I disabled it once and I had to restore a backup of the forum to get the theme back to normal. Besides breaking mods, I have to use <br>'s still, and HTML clear floats instead of CSS clear's, and I have to use !important to style what I want exactly and if I want to position something, I have to use position property, instead of just margins.

MyBB is the best forum out there, there has yet to be a forum IMO to so much features, stable, and easy to use for ADMINISTRATORS and USERS. But yet, the code behind to make a theme looks like a nightmare.

So I'm asking the other theme developers, who has made themes before and has gotten popular, how do you make themes without the fear of:
  • Mods breaking theme or theme breaking mods
  • Not be scared of tables
  • Edit code with a horrible "advanced css" editor and template/html editor?