MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Vertical shading with :nth-child
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I made a theme where I modified the template to add tags so I could put vertical shading into places such as thread count and post count columns. I no longer use that theme. And being that I'm a beginner, I dread trying to do this again.

But I'm wondering if there is a pure CSS way to do this. I was looking at pseudo classes such as :nth-child, :nth-last-child, :nth-last-of-type
:nth-of-type, etc. I'm wondering, for example, if I can use it to color a column by using it with .trow. Can anyone advise me on this?

BTW, I'd just go in there and try it, but I'm so not good at this stuff, a lot of times my tests show that something won't work, simply because I did it all wrong.

http://www.w3schools.com/CSSref/sel_nth-child.asp
If I understood you right, this should work for you:

- for .trow1 & .trow2
.trow1:nth-child(3),.trow1:nth-child(4),.trow2:nth-child(3),.trow2:nth-child(4)  {
background:red;
}

- just for .trow
.trow:nth-child(3),.trow:nth-child(4)  {
}

I think that you may want to change your css classes for table columns on index, because the code above will color 4th table cells everywhere.
(2014-06-24, 08:11 PM)Adriano Wrote: [ -> ]I think that you may want to change your css classes for table columns on index, because the code above will color 4th table cells everywhere.

What you suggested colored the columns you specified, but as you point out it colors all over the place. It colors the calendar, member list, etc. in ways that don't look good.

You suggested changing classes for table columns on index. Would this mean editing the template? I don't suppose the CSS can zero in here, can it?
tbody[id^=cat_] .trow1:nth-child(3), tbody[id^=cat_] .trow1:nth-child(4), tbody[id^=cat_] .trow2:nth-child(3), tbody[id^=cat_] .trow2:nth-child(4)  {
}

That should do what you're aiming for.