MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: DVZ Shoutbox 2.3.4
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Bumping it
@Noobly: You didnt provide a single information about your setup or how you changed your template.
Dunno how anyone without a working crystalball should be able to provide a solution then Toungue
(2017-03-21, 08:40 AM)sicut Wrote: [ -> ]@Noobly: You didnt provide a single information about your setup or how you changed your template.
Dunno how anyone without a working crystalball should be able to provide a solution then Toungue

https://coderwall.com/p/jnw-pg/mybb-custom-pages

Then simply took the dvz variable and placed it on the page. 
Doesnt really matter what I did the dvz variable seems to only work on the index page, so what do I do to have it on multiple pages.
Gotcha. Same problem here.
But if you use the search function, it would show that its a common problem/complain.
Did you check page 1 of this thread? Wink

But I had to change
'dvz_shoutbox');
to
['dvz_shoutbox', 'load_window']);
Otherwise I got an PHP error.
Hello,
I've read through almost every page of this thread looking for a fix for my problem.
I see many people posting having this same exact problem but no one has found a solution that I've seen.

My shoutbox is installed on my sites main page just fine.
You can shout but if you shout again it won't show up unless you refresh the page Sad
I've messed with the plugin setting yet nothing works to make the next shout appear without a page refresh.

So if there's other people  trying to shout it looks like this:

Shout#3) Me trying to speak again: Nothing shows up that I type unless I refresh the page and nothing shows up from the guy trying to add a second reply
Shout#2) reply from next guy: Hello me how are you
Shout#1) Me: hi

There's only 1 entry of {$dvz_shoutbox} in my index so that's not the problem ( I read someones reply to check this )

Any assistance to fix this is greatly appreciated Smile
I would like to make guests use shoutbox. However even if you select guests as an option for the settings shout, guests cannot use the shoutbox at all.

How can i make guest allowed to use the shoutbox?

EDIT:
I have been tinkering with this and even if you comment out the condition checking if the poster is a user on line 744 (on mine) 
if (self::is_user()) {
It gives the response to guests that they need to post 0 posts before they can use it. I tried returning true prematurely on some of the premission functions such as
   
    static function is_user()
    {   
        global $mybb;
        return $mybb->user['uid'] != 0;
    }   
changed to this
    static function is_user()
    {   
        global $mybb;
        return true;
        //return $mybb->user['uid'] != 0;
    }   

as well as the ability to access the shout
    static function access_shout()
    {   
        $array = self::settings_get_csv('groups_shout');
        
        return (
            self::is_user() &&
            !self::is_blocked() &&
            (
                self::access_mod() ||
                (
                    self::access_view() &&
                    self::access_minposts() &&
                    $array[0] == -1 || is_member($array)
                )
            )
        );
    }
changed to this
    static function access_shout()
    {   
        $array = self::settings_get_csv('groups_shout');

        return true;

        return (
            self::is_user() &&
            !self::is_blocked() &&
            (
                self::access_mod() ||
                (
                    self::access_view() &&
                    self::access_minposts() &&
                    $array[0] == -1 || is_member($array)
                )
            )
        );
    }

but i cant get guests to be able to use the shoutbox at all????

guests view after changes.....
[attachment=38656]
(2017-03-21, 07:48 PM)sicut Wrote: [ -> ]Gotcha. Same problem here.
But if you use the search function, it would show that its a common problem/complain.
Did you check page 1 of this thread? Wink

But I had to change
'dvz_shoutbox');
to
['dvz_shoutbox', 'load_window']);
Otherwise I got an PHP error.

Just to confirm, will that change still allow the shoutbox to be functional on both pages?

I want it on the index as it is as well as on a separate page called livechat. It must work on both pages simultaneously.
doesnt work. 

if my page template name is "some_page" how do I get the shoutbox to display on both the index page and some_page

This is my code and it doesnt work.

$plugins->add_hook('global_start', ['dvz_shoutbox', 'global_start']);   // cache shoutbox templates
$plugins->add_hook('global_end',   ['dvz_shoutbox', 'global_end']);    // catch archive page
$plugins->add_hook('xmlhttp',      ['dvz_shoutbox', 'xmlhttp']);      // xmlhttp.php listening
$plugins->add_hook('index_end',    ['dvz_shoutbox', 'load_window']); // load Shoutbox window to {$dvz_shoutbox} variable
$plugins->add_hook('some_page',    ['dvz_shoutbox', 'load_window']);



Bump for life
Bump for help

(2016-10-19, 06:48 PM)metulburr Wrote: [ -> ]Can you explain this process? I am not sure how exactly?

Did you ever come right with this? @metulburr if you have do you mind PMing me the solution, I am at my wits end here.

IS there a way to have this shoutbox in full screen mode?

(2016-03-19, 03:01 AM).m. Wrote: [ -> ]^ I'd suggest to show it on forum display pages & topics pages (along with the index page & may be the portal)
that requires adding different hooks and using the shoutbox variable on relevant templates

forumdisplay hook (already given)
$plugins->add_hook('forumdisplay_start', ['dvz_shoutbox', 'load_window']);

for topics pages
$plugins->add_hook('showthread_start', ['dvz_shoutbox', 'load_window']);

for the portal it can be like this
$plugins->add_hook('portal_start', ['dvz_shoutbox', 'load_window']);

What about a custom page like this: https://coderwall.com/p/jnw-pg/mybb-custom-pages this was done by Paul H

I believe he is part of the mybb team so his tutorial should be correct.
[url=https://coderwall.com/penguinpaul][/url]
@Noobly
Quote:I want it on the index as it is as well as on a separate page called livechat. It must work on both pages simultaneously.

Quote:Did you ever come right with this? @metulburr if you have do you mind PMing me the solution, I am at my wits end here.
wow yeah i have come a long way in just 5 months of tinkering with things. 

Yes i figured it out. You need to add this exact line in your hooks in the file /inc/plugins/dvz_shoubox.php (i put it right after the other hooks)
$plugins->add_hook('dvz_shoutbox_start',  ['dvz_shoutbox', 'load_window']); 
//  load Shoutbox window to {$dvz_shoutbox} variable 

After this, you can put in {$dvz_shoutbox} variable in both your index page and in any custom pages

Why this is not in the settings i am not sure? It seems like it should be

An example would be our chat here on the index at the bottom
https://python-forum.io/index.php

as well as on a custom page by itself
https://python-forum.io/shoutbox.php