MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: [1.8.x/1.6.x] Automatic messages
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
First of all... I'm not a programmer, so, if you find a bug or you find a better way to achieve this, you can share your opinion here.

This is a very short and simple tutorial on how to display automatic messages, with fade in and out, and a custom time to "change".

First: jQuery (If you're on 1.6.x, you need to load jQuery first)

This code goes on headerinclude template

​<script type="text/javascript">
jQuery(function() {

var quotes = jQuery(".quotes"); // Here you define the class you want to use in your messages
    var quoteIndex = -1;

function showNextQuote() {
        ++quoteIndex;
        quotes.eq(quoteIndex % quotes.length)
            .fadeIn(500) // This is the time for the fade in effect
            .delay(12000) // This is the time for the change between each message
            .fadeOut(500, showNextQuote); // This is the time for the fade out effect
    }

showNextQuote();

});
</script>

Now, the HTML (Put wherever you want, I recommend the header template, so this will be displayed in all the forum)

​<div class="news">
    <div class="announcements">Announcements:</div>
    <div class="automsg">
        <ul>
            <li class="quotes">Welcome to our community. Hope you like it.</li>
            <li class="quotes">If you read this, ignore this message.</li>
        </ul>
    </div>
</div>

And finally, the CSS (You can put this on global.css or in a custom one)

​.news {
    line-height: 40px;
    font-family: Tahoma;
}

.announcements {
    width: 130px;
    text-align: left;
    float: left;
    margin: 0 2px 0 0;
    padding: 5px 0;
    color: #FFFFFF;
    font-weight: bold;
}

.automsg {
    width: 852px;
    float: left;
    padding: 5px 0;
}

.automsj ul {
    padding: 0;
    margin: 0;
}

.quotes {
    color: #b4d3e2;
    list-style: none;