MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Need guidance on modding registration process/profile
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi guys,

i'm trying to write a plugin to do the following:

1) collect additional information during registration (like telephone numbers, mailing address and gender).

2) plugin must do some basic error checking for these additional fields (i wanna make them complusary as well)

3) allow user to change them on their profile page later

i've looked around and can't find any mods/plugin to do this. so i'm gonna try to attempt this myself.

i do know php and mysql on a novice level (done some mimi-projects on them myself). but i'm completely new to myBB (just downloaded and installed yesterday) and need some quick pointers on this.

i'm not gonna make it all nice and perfect (like using text from the language tables or adding new settings on plugin activation.)

but anyways, this is my work plan for phase 1 (to get the registration form to accept my additional inputs first)...

===step 1=====
change the template for "member_register".
must include the new fields i want.

question:
on the template, i'm seeing text inputs with their tags stated as
value="{$email}"
how does the "{$email}" work here ?
i'm probably gonna leave my input values blank on the registration form, but i'll need to know how they work when i mod the profile area.

====step 2=====
probably go to phpMyAdmin and add in new fields to the "users" table.

====step 3=====
to get my plugin to process the mew fields when user submits the registration form.

i've read the article on the plugin hooks system.
http://wiki.mybboard.com/index.php/MyBB_Plugin_Hooks
(its a little outdated ain't it ?)

i'll probably be looking at hooks in the members.php registration area.

85 member_do_register_start
432 member_do_register_process (can't find this in members.php)
469 member_do_register_end
479 member_do_register_end