MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: How to upload all the new version files
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi, I am a newbie.
I am following the directions on the upgrading to new version (I am going 1.6.13 to 1.6.15)
and I am after some more detail on this instruction:

1. Upload ALL of the files and folders inside the package (from inside the "Upload" folder if using the latest version/full package), including the ./install/ folder (if it exists), overwriting the existing copies of the files in your file system.

I am using a CPanel and files upload one at  a time (too long) or I can upload a zip and open it in cpanel (which I was just about to do)
However I want to check that's the right thing to do. 
If I upload the whole zip file of version 1.6.15 that I downloaded from myBB blog, into my root directory and open it there, will all the subdirectories open and do the right thing, overwrite the old directories etc?

When I unzipped it on my computer there was a documentation directory and an upload directory.  
Is there a better way to do this please?
thanksHuh
you have to upload the contents of upload folder - not the folder but all its contents.

you can make a zip file consisting of contents of the upload folder and use it. however
you have to ensure from your webhost that existing files get overwritten. some servers
delete everything in the existing folder and upload the new contents. this should be
prevented.

And just as precaution,
take backups of the database, ./inc/config.php & ./inc/settings.php files
thanks .m.
This is getting hard!
I will set up a ticket to check about overwriting existing rather than deleting all.
I have backed up my databases via my board adminCP
I have made a change log using my admin log info and copied all the template files I have made modifications to using the diff feature that shows the changes.