MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: I wanna love MyBB but can't. IPB to MyBB migration issues.
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
First let me say; "Hat's off to the developers of MyBB!!!" In my experience this has got to be one of the slickest discussion forum software alive. I've been moderating forums since 1988 pre-WWW. I've been through most of them, USENET, eGroups(Now Yahoo Groups), vBulletin, Invision ... well, you get the idea, this ain't my first rodeo.  Toungue  

Also, it is not my intent to slight or insult the development team, so if my comments come across in any other way, that is not what I want to convey. Please assume that this is intended to offer my unsuccessful  experience with converting IPB 3.4.7 to MyBB.

In 2006, the private community I administer, decided to migrate to Invision Power Boards. At the time IPB 2.x was very slick. In fact, MyBB reminds me a lot of IPB 2.x in terms that it appears to be developed by Admins for Admins.

In 2009 IPS force-fed an upgrade to our community that we neither wanted nor liked. But we were forced to accept it. This past month, IPS has made changes to our service which have rendered it unacceptable to my community. It's apparent that their notion of customer service follows in the footsteps of companies such as Apple and Microsoft who bully their customers. In other words, "You'll do it our way or the high way". So we are forced to make a change we would rather not.

We've never looked for a handout. I wish there was a paid version of MyBB or at least some service that we could pay for to convert our IPB board flawlessly. After all, we have paid Invision $20/mo plus $50/year for hosting for the last 8 years. It has never been about the money.