MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: how to show recentposts in webiste homepage
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
hi friends, i would like to make my webiste be integrated with mybb.
i would like to include login box and recent posts on websites home page.
iam using 1.2.2
could any one suggest me the latest code to do it. i studied the user submitted tutorials the integration . but i get a blank recent posts .so could any one suggest me the code.
Hello
Use this code to show the latest 5 forums' threads on your site.

//Connect to mybb db
	mysql_connect("localhost", "username", "password") or die("Could not connect to MySQL");
	mysql_select_db("db_name") or die("Could not connect to MySQL");

//query to get latest 5 threads
	$query = mysql_query("
			SELECT t.*, u.username
			FROM mybb_threads t
			LEFT JOIN mybb_users u ON (u.uid=t.uid)
			WHERE 1=1 AND t.visible='1' AND t.closed NOT LIKE 'moved|%'
			ORDER BY t.lastpost DESC 
			LIMIT 0, 5"
		);

$list = '';
	while($fetch = mysql_fetch_array($query))
	{
		$list .= "<strong><a href=\"forums/showthread.php?tid={$fetch['tid']}\">".htmlspecialchars_uni($fetch['subject'])."</a></strong><br />";
	}
	//output
	echo $list;

//MyBB htmlspecialchars function
function htmlspecialchars_uni($message)
{
	$message = preg_replace("#&(?!\#[0-9]+;)#si", "&amp;", $message); // Fix & but allow unicode
	$message = str_replace("<","&lt;",$message);
	$message = str_replace(">","&gt;",$message);
	$message = str_replace("\"","&quot;",$message);
	$message = str_replace("  ", "&nbsp;&nbsp;", $message);
	return $message;
}

For the log in box, read here
Isn't there a better way to connect to MySQL, using some king of mysterious MyBB function?

Oh, I see. You are trying to minimize loading time.