MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: A short comparison of MyBB and PhpBB
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
This is a general comparison from my point of view as a user. I am just a novice about php and bb coding. So i needed a forum and everyone i consulted said PhpBB. Then i moved to PhpBB on my localhost and started my journey of forums. then i noticed some weird stuff just contrary to what all others boast about.

GRAPHICS :- PhpBB outruns MyBB in graphics for forums as there are not enough guys involved in MyBB template designing. Still i will point out 'TheCure', 'NeonGlow' as outstanding themes in MyBB.

PLUGINS :- It is just a rumor that PhpBB has more plugins bla bla ba Big Grin If you observe nicely, 60% of good plugins of PhpBB are outdated and have no use with 3.0.12, forget 3.1. But on the contrary i got almost every needed plugin working for 1.6 MyBB. So MyBB outruns PhpBB in plugins as per me. MyBB plugin are 10x easier to install even than PhpBB. Inferno shoutbox of MyBB is real swag over the mchat taboo of PhpBB

USER-FRIENDLY :- If you are new to forums, PhpBB will give you technical nightmares Toungue MyBB on the other hand, runs smoothly and easy to handle as a novice even. MyBB outruns PhpBB here as well.

PhpBB is good for just graphics, graphics and graphics.
I just wish if someone could develop some good MyBB themes as Pbwow.com did. Even if you make those themes premium; it will be great contribution Smile
I hope someone would find these things useful and decide wisely.
Here's something too: http://www.forum-software.org/forum-comp...-vs-phpbb3

Theres a little give and take but it seems that the two are equal in a lot of aspects.

I've used both and I prefer MyBB myself. It is easier to work with and more user friendly in my opinion.
exactly brother, as i said it earlier.
"MyBB lacks only in good graphical templates"