MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: [FIXED] IP registration issue (127.0.0.1)
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi there.
I'm not a website expert, but I was assigned to try fix that issue. Confused

I'm one of the Wings3d forum admin and since Nov/14 I've niticed the IP information for registering and online users has not been done correctly - it's always 127.0.0.1 (localhost). So, there was a spammer party there and I need to change enable the Admin activtion. (lot of work now).

So, I opened a ticket at SourgeForce (where the forum is hosted) and they answered this way:
Quote:We upgraded a device which handles the headers, its possible it responded incorrectly prior to tuesday. Our suggestion is to use the X-Remote-Addr header to get the client IP; no other header or env will be reliable or useful for that purpose.

I have no idea where to do that change (which .php files). Can someone help me with this?

We are still using the MyBB 1.6.8

Thanks in advanced
Micheus
If you are going to use the 1.6 series, you should at least upgrade to 1.6.16. See Docs for guidance.
and this might help

admin panel >> configuration >> settings >> Server and Optimization Options --> Scrutinize User's IP address?

select yes and save the settings
(2015-02-10, 04:01 PM)dragonexpert Wrote: [ -> ]If you are going to use the 1.6 series, you should at least upgrade to 1.6.16.  See Docs for guidance.
Thanks for the advice and link. We intend to update the forum, but we would like to get it working as it was prior Nov/14.

No one wants to introduce any other risk factor before fix the original issue. Smile

(2015-02-10, 04:06 PM).m. Wrote: [ -> ]and this might help

admin panel >> configuration >> settings >> Server and Optimization Options --> Scrutinize User's IP address?

select yes and save the settings
Thanks. It's already Yes.