MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Site integration, blog, WordPress, static pages, etc.
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I am fairly knowledgeable about web design (HTML, CSS, JS, PHP, MySQL, etc.) but I am new to MyBB and am seeking some advice/opinions from some MyBB vets about site integration.

So far, I have setup a MyBB forum, built a custom theme, and everything looks awesome and works great. Outside of the forum, I'd like to serve up some static pages and maybe even a blog. Ideally, I'd also like the site to have the ability to add/remove/edit static pages easily with little web dev knowledge. Ideally again, I'd also like blog posts and associated comments integrated with the forum (single sign-on, etc.).

So far, I am in the process of setting up WordPress alongside MyBB to handle the static pages and blog/comments, but this means I have to build a custom WP theme, the blog/comments won't be tightly integrated and there'd be two sign-ins, one for WP and one for MyBB (even with a bridge).

I am thinking there must be a better way.

I am thinking about managing the static pages via forum posts, and it will also pull forum posts and comments for the blog. Everything pulled will also use BBcode for formatting, making it easy for non-web devs to manage the static pages and blog.

One question I have about the static pages is related to the navigation menu bar. Like if I am pulling forum posts for the content of static pages, what's the best way to populate a navigation menu bar and specify things like order (XThreads anyone)?

I don't need any help with the actual coding of all this, but I'd like to get some input from some MyBB vets about this general idea. Has anyone done something like this and have suggestions?

Any input will be greatly appreciated!