MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Custom Profile Fields
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hi all,

I'm new to this, so bear with me. Thanks in advance.

In the Custom Profile Fields, for Gender, I have as Field Type - Select Box.

On Selectable Options box, I have:

Male
Female

It's a Required field that is shown on registration.

[Image: xc19u.jpg]

However, the user has the first option already selected for them, in this case, 'Male'. So if they don't do anything, they will be able to register as 'Male'. Obviously I don't want that to happen. I want them to be forced to select - Male or Female. Rather than the first option already selected for them.

This is what they see:

[Image: 2jfzzfp.jpg]

And as you can see, same problem with the Location field. It's set to Afghanistan.

This can potentially lead to members with "Male" and "Afghanistan" on their info, although they are neither male or located there. Which is the reason I need to correct this!

I tried adding a blank line, above male, but that doesn't work. Any help will be appreciated!

Anyone?  Huh
For gender you can always try this:

Field Type: Multiple Option Selection Box
Field Length: 2
(2015-03-15, 05:12 AM)ThemeFreaknet Wrote: [ -> ]For gender you can always try this:

Field Type: Multiple Option Selection Box
Field Length: 2

Thanks for your response. Will give that a try. What about the location? I'm sure there has got to be a general solution to this.
Or you can add another option in the dropdown as "Not specified", so that it remains default.
Yeah I tried that. But I assume there will be a lot of 'not specified' as a result. So I'm trying to force them to respond to it. Rather than have a bunch of people with 'not specified' as their location.
Do it like this:

1: For FIELD TYPE select RADIO BUTTONS