MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Fade out Popup notification, like the login
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Firstly, sorry if this is the wrong place, as it's not technically an issue, but is relating to MyBB 1.8, I'm just a novice web dev.

I want to know how I could go about creating a greeting prompt that fades out and has a popup, similar to the fade out popup you get when you click "Log in".

Can anyone point me in the right direction, pretty clueless unless its changing some fonts, images or tables around.
Are you looking specifically for this within MyBB, or just general websites?
For reference: If it's for MyBB, you're in the right spot. If it's for general stuff, look at the Web Development/Administration section toward the bottom.

Either way, http://community.mybb.com/thread-117646.html is how it was done in MyBB 1.6 before 1.8 had modal boxes in its core. The code edits might help you understand the components to it all.
It's for For my MyBB 1.8 webpage

How can I get the above to load as the page loads?

I see how the login one works as an onclick

I see the login button on the quest welcome is:
<a href="http://www.terraria.tls.id.au/member.php?action=login" class="login">Login</a>

I want to take this:
onclick="$('#quick_login').modal({ fadeDuration: 250, keepelement: true, zIndex: (typeof modal_zindex !== 'undefined' ? modal_zindex : 9999) }); return false;"

change it to onload, add it to the body of the portal page, but have it load regardless of if they are a guest or logged in but also not the quick_login box, I want to define a new one

I just cant find where quick_login is defined and/or change it to anything else.

Further to that, anything i seem to place #quick_login with, other variables or template names, I cant even seem to get a popup at all.