MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Huge traffic volume
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hi Everyone,

As per title, I have been experiencing a huge spike in traffic (+/- 20 000 per day) on my forum lately, which has caused the site to crash on a few occasions. Link to forum (see the stats at the bottom of the page)  

I have added some code to the .htaccess file, which seemed to help the site to be able to load at least, but it is still very sluggish and the visits distort my visitors stats. The code I have used was taken off someones help article, and the URLs do not necessarily match the ones that are spamming my site. I have been trying to figure out where to find the URLs/IP addresses that are causing the traffic so that I may include them in the .htaccess file, but being a noob, I don't seem to be able to get the info I need. Could anyone point me in the right direction? I would greatly appreciate any help!  Blush

Thanks
Nadja
(2015-04-27, 07:31 AM)Bushbaby77 Wrote: [ -> ]Hi Everyone,

As per title, I have been experiencing a huge spike in traffic (+/- 20 000 per day) on my forum lately, which has caused the site to crash on a few occasions. Link to forum (see the stats at the bottom of the page)  

I have added some code to the .htaccess file, which seemed to help the site to be able to load at least, but it is still very sluggish and the visits distort my visitors stats. The code I have used was taken off someones help article, and the URLs do not necessarily match the ones that are spamming my site. I have been trying to figure out where to find the URLs/IP addresses that are causing the traffic so that I may include them in the .htaccess file, but being a noob, I don't seem to be able to get the info I need. Could anyone point me in the right direction? I would greatly appreciate any help!  Blush

Thanks
Nadja

probably spammers or bots.